Up-cycled Toddler Dress

May 13, 2009 at 5:09 am Leave a comment

So my family is getting ready for a yard sale this weekend, and after work today I decided to go through my closet and get rid of all my clothes that don’t fit after having my surro-twins…. ok, so maybe some of them haven’t fit in awhile, but anyways… I was about to throw a bright button-up shirt into the “sale” pile when I remembered a tutorial I had seen awhile back. I used this as the perfect excuse to abandon the yard sale prep and whip out my sewing machine!

Here’s what I started with… a stained button-up shirt:

Old stained shirt

Old stained shirt

Now after 2.5 hours of disassembling then re-configuring, some sewing, a little elastic, and serging, here is my Princess wearing the final product:

May 2009 030

Dancing in her new dress

Dancing in her new dress

So now I’m off to do some laundry, and hopefully tackle the old clothes in my closet… this time without being distracted by a sewing project!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Giveaway Day! Another great tutorial!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me:

I'm a 20-something working mother of a 9 yr old step-son, a 4 year old daughter, and a surrogate mother to twins born in Feb. '09. I love sewing gifts and clothing in my free time, and especially love sewing baby items. I am clumsy to a fault, a little too sarcastic at times, I put my all into everything I do 110% of the time... which isn't always the best thing! I try to be the best wife, mother, friend, sister, & daughter I can be on a daily basis.

