Busy 3-day weekend…

May 16, 2009 at 3:07 pm Leave a comment

Finished pair of Reversible Booties

Finished pair of Reversible Booties

I’m so lucky to get every other Friday off of work, but for some reason I have fallen into the habit of trying to cram too much into these longer weekends… making them feel even shorter than the regular ones!! Thursday night I stayed up until around 1 am, partly because I was trying to finish up some chores around the house, and partly because I just couldn’t shut my brain off for some reason. Yesterday morning I was up by 5 and at the gym by 6 (only thanks to my personal trainer… otherwise I would have hit snooze!) and then off to the Gilroy outlets for a day of shopping with my mom. I’d forgotten how much fun my mother and I have when we get to spend a whole uninterrupted day together. We used to go on these shopping “adventures” a lot more when I was younger, but now they are few and far between, so it was definitely some great quality time with Mom! Now if only the shopping had been a little better… I was able to find a pair of jeans that actually fit (WOOO HOOO!) and weren’t ridiculously expensive. I picked some clothes up for the kids… basic summer staples, and even found a few items at Ross for the hubby! My biggest find was at Old Navy… a couple cute tops that had “defects” and were final sale items at 75% off due to elastic being ripped out, a seam having a hole etc…. so I got 3 cute tops for under $9 TOTAL that are completely fixable! They probably aren’t tops I would have normally chosen (and paid full price for) but I’m a sucker for a good deal and a reason to get my sewing machine out!

In other news, we have a birthday party today for one of Rylee’s friends from church. It’s a swim party, so it should be fun… and hot! I’m NOT looking forward to 3 digit temps on Sunday & Monday. We are thinking about trying to take the boat up to the lake for the first time tomorrow after church. I just don’t know what to do with the kids… I would really like to bring them, and I know they’d love to go, but our bimini top that we ordered hasn’t arrived yet. Add in my daughter having the whitest skin you can imagine, and I’m already imagining a horrible sunburn that makes me feel like a negligent mother. Not to mention it’s just going to be plain HOT and we don’t have any boat “toys” yet, so they’d probably get bored rather fast. So we’ll see how it goes I guess!

Planning some more sewing today… going to start making one (or the only?) of the gift sets for the May Giveaway Day! I’m super excited about it, and am looking forward to visiting the other blogs that are participating too.  Who knows? Maybe I’ll even win someone else’s giveaway!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Another great tutorial! Kids are such a blessing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me:

I'm a 20-something working mother of a 9 yr old step-son, a 4 year old daughter, and a surrogate mother to twins born in Feb. '09. I love sewing gifts and clothing in my free time, and especially love sewing baby items. I am clumsy to a fault, a little too sarcastic at times, I put my all into everything I do 110% of the time... which isn't always the best thing! I try to be the best wife, mother, friend, sister, & daughter I can be on a daily basis.

