Kids are such a blessing

May 17, 2009 at 3:21 am 2 comments

I am a little obsessed about being late… I absolutely hate it, and will do everything in my power to avoid it. Today was Rylee’s friends swim party, and I would have sworn that the invitation said it started at 1 pm. So we show up about 10 minutes “early” and I’m surprised to see lots of people there and already in the pool. I ask the other mom where she would like me to put her daughter’s present, and she says “oh, well you can just give it to her… she just got done opening all the other ones.” This is when I realize something is wrong, so I reply, “Oh my gosh! Am I late??!!” and she smiles, and sort of whispers “uh, the invitation said 11 to 1″… Talk about feeling like a horrible parent!! Luckily all the kids were having fun and not getting ready to leave, so Rylee played in the pool with the other girls for about 20 minutes, then the hostess was kind enough to send us home with cupcakes since we had missed the whole cake thing! On the drive home my daughter asks me “Mom, why did we have to leave so fast?” So I apologized and told her “mommy made a mistake that made us very late”, fully ready for her to have a little pouty-lip reply like, “why did you do that?” or “but I really wanted to stay!”… instead she completely surprises me saying, “That’s ok mom. We can make mistakes sometimes. They’re kinda like accidents.” [insert proud mommy feeling here] I’m so blessed to have a great daughter who is forgiving and so understanding at the tender age of 4!

While I’m bragging about my daughter, look what she made today:

Tissue paper doll dress

Tissue paper doll dress

A doll dress made out of tissue paper!! She asked me to help her, so I drew two tank top shapes for her to cut out, and then she taped them together on the tops and the sides. She is super proud of “sewing” her first doll dress!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Busy 3-day weekend… R.I.P Beany!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruthie  |  June 3, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    That’s rad. Mind if I steal your idea?

    Reply
    • 2. Jocelyn  |  June 3, 2009 at 10:42 pm

      Steal away! I’m pretty darn sure I’m not the first to come up with the idea!! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me:

I'm a 20-something working mother of a 9 yr old step-son, a 4 year old daughter, and a surrogate mother to twins born in Feb. '09. I love sewing gifts and clothing in my free time, and especially love sewing baby items. I am clumsy to a fault, a little too sarcastic at times, I put my all into everything I do 110% of the time... which isn't always the best thing! I try to be the best wife, mother, friend, sister, & daughter I can be on a daily basis.

